The Upside of No

August 23, 2009 at 3:25 pm | Posted in Adrian Miller Sales Training, Adrian's Network, sales, Sales Training, small business | Leave a comment

We all hate to hear “no” but honestly, isn’t hearing a straightforward “no” better than, well, not hearing anything at all?

A definite no. Not a stall. Not a maybe. Just a no based upon a valid and definitive reason.

Frankly, at this point in the difficult economic climate in which we are mired, a no seems almost a relief.

A no allows me to move on.

A no doesn’t clutter my sales funnel. I mean, I might reconnect with my no in a few months but right now, frankly speaking, it is a no.

A no allows me the opportunity to learn how and what I need to do better to get to a yes (a maybe doesn’t really help me with that at all.)

A no can be educational and informative. A maybe is just frustrating.

I learn from my no’s. How to better present value, overcome obstacles or perhaps select my prospects a tad more carefully.

Of course I would rather hear a yes but in this age of  frozen funnels, the no’s are okay.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

