October 30, 2008 at 7:17 pm | Posted in Customer Service, Marketing, sales, Sales Training, small business | Leave a comment

I did some shopping today. Nothing elaborate. Just some odds and ends purchased in stores near my house. I was also invisible today, at least in the stores that I shopped. No one came over to me, offered their assistance or made any sign of recognition until such time as I took the initiative and went over to them.  

Got me thinking about my recent trip to Istanbul.

There in the Grand Bazaar you couldn’t help but be noticed. The merchants were on their feet, making eye contact, extolling the virtues of their wares, heck—trying to make a sale.

I think some of the sales folks that I encountered today could take a lesson or two. In enthusiasm, interest, energy and focus and if they tempered it a bit with our more laid back sensibilities, then that would be OK too.

But it would feel awfully nice to not feel invisible when trying to make a purchase. Not so very hard to ask for, is it?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.