On the First Day of 2008

January 1, 2008 at 4:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I think that this resolution thing is our way of starting anew with a nice clean slate, the mistakes, misfortunes and obstacles of the previous year somehow miraculously wiped clean. I wavered about whether or not to make some resolutions for this coming year and then decided that if I was going to do it, I might as well be serious and write them down.

So here goes:

Resolved: I will take, no make, the time for the things that provide me pleasure. Photography, reading and jogging used to play a much more prominent role in my life and somehow in the manic days that now comprise my life, these pursuits have taken a back seat. I want to change the way I allocate my time.

Resolved: I need to learn to say no to toxic people, toxic acitvities and time/energy suckers that eat away at my productivity and soul. (This will be difficult for me.)

Resolved: I need to organize my over cluttered house and discard that which has no meaning. I hold on to things for too long and let sentimentality get in the way of practicality. That’s ok I guess but there has to be some sort of limit. So that’s what I intend to do, set the limit.

And yup, it would have been easier for me to write that I want (need) to ratchet up sales in 2008, generate more revenue and so on. And of course that’s in my head as well but those sorts of business improvement resolutions seem to be a bit too pat.

So there you have it and if you believe “that which gets written down gets accomplished” then I am on my way to success.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

